Meet Colorado’s 2019 Teacher of the Year Finalists

We hope these six teachers are rolling into the week feeling extra special, having just been named as finalists for Colorado’s 2019 Teacher of the Year competition.

Kelly Cvanciger (Bear Creek High School, Jefferson County)

Margaret Cypress (Bradley International School, Denver Public Schools)

Katie Goldsberry (Longmont Estates Elementary, St. Vrain Valley School District)

Amy Jones (Sunset Elementary, Moffat County RE-1)

Nathan Pearsall (Vista Ridge High School, District 49)

Nellie Thomson (West Grand School, West Grand School District)

“These six finalists are all innovative leaders in their school communities and compassionate and inspiring educators in their classrooms,” said Colorado Education Commissioner Katy Anthes. “Any one of them would be an excellent ambassador for the teaching profession.”

This year 48 individuals applied for the prestigious honor. On November 1st one of the six finalists above will be announced as the winner, as well as an automatic nominee for the National Teacher of the Year competition.

Colorado’s current Teacher of the Year is Christina Randle, a first-grade teacher at Soaring Eagles Elementary School in the Harrison School District No. 2. Throughout 2018, Christina has been working to lift up the teaching profession and was even named a national finalist for California Casualty Award for Teaching Excellence, at the National Education Association Foundation’s Salute  to Excellence in Education gala in Washington, D.C.

At the end of the year Christina will leave some big shoes to fill. But we’re pretty sure the six finalists above will blaze their own trail of achievement as well.

So let’s hear it for the teachers!




  1 comment for “Meet Colorado’s 2019 Teacher of the Year Finalists

More Comments